Poets logo

What is Freedom?

Short poem with two perspectives

By Dovile MiliauskaitePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
What is Freedom?
Photo by Tina Hartung on Unsplash

Tell me, what's it like to be free

Tell me, if its all I ever hoped for

Does it feel like a gentle breeze on Sunday morning

A day of the week that we used to take to rest

Tell me, is it worth fighting for?

I would give anything for a safe street to walk on

No fear of fire in the sky or bullets piercing through the wind

Tell me, are there places where I can feel safe?

Does safe means being free?

-

Yes, safety equals freedom

There are places I can show you where hope is still alive

And we walk in the streets with no pain or fear

We live in peace with each other and we stand with your injustice

I will tell you of the land where you do not need to be afraid

And doors are always open,

Come on in and I will feed you;

Here, You are welcomed.

Things happening in Ukraine have devastated the country and the rest of the world. The terror and uncertainty people of Ukraine face is unimaginable, so, although small, I hope my poem can contribute to the ongoing hope and support within the Vocal community for Ukraine. Please follow the link to donate to Ukrainian charities providing urgent assistance:

https://www.canadahelps.org/en/donate-to-ukraine/

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Dovile Miliauskaite

I have found writing extremely therapeutic & when I write, it sometimes comes out in rhyme.

My goal is to explore my creative side; once ideas flush my mind, I pledge to write and share them with the world. :)

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.