Poets logo

What Is Comfort?

And why did it change for me?

By Edy Zoo Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
What Is Comfort?
Photo by Mitchell Hartley on Unsplash

How did I measure my comfort before?

I needed to see your rosy cheeks

Holding up your smile, before I sat,

So, I could have a sense of security.

The sound of comfort was:

The sound of your voice booming on the phone when you laughed.

The taste of comfort was:

The taste of orange juice with you at the cafe.

The touch of comfort was:

Your warm hand on my shoulder, reminding me it would be ok.

The smell of comfort was:

Together burning food in the kitchen.

The sight of comfort was:

A worn and faded couch cushion, where we could sink into—and stay

there for hours, talking about nothing.

However, now I realize one thing…

Comfort is short-lived and transient.

Now you’re gone, so I measure my comfort:

By holding onto a photo of your smile,

Your cheeks, still plump, but now they’re gray.

So, I have no sense of security.

For the sound of comfort is:

Your voice in a receiver as I replay a video on my phone.

For the taste of comfort is:

The silent tears that pool at the edge of my lip.

For the touch of comfort is:

The cold sensation I get when I hug the hoodie you gave me.

For the smell of comfort is:

A stubborn scent lingering from your sweet aroma.

For the sight of comfort is:

A worn and faded couch cushion, where I sink into—and stay there for

hours remembering the happy times you gave me… friend.

heartbreakinspirationalsad poetry
1

About the Creator

Edy Zoo

Edy Zoo is an author who writes about social subjects. He contributes to the ever-growing library of social critics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.