Poets logo

What If I Didn’t Write Today?

On breaking my most sacred promise

By GB RogutPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Lum3n.com from Pexels

What if I didn’t write today?

I swore to myself

that every day

even for a few minutes

I would pour myself on the page.

What if I break my promise today?

The only promise I have been able to keep.

Sometimes

it is just a sentence.

Others

it’s my life story.

What if I were to skip it?

Just for today?

I say to myself that nothing would happen:

the world wouldn’t end

the moon would keep on bringing up the tide.

Only I would know

only I would care.

That’s why I have to keep going.

Because it matters to me.

Because it means something to me.

Because I made this promise to myself

to the woman in the mirror

the only person I can truly count on.

I cannot let her down.

I will not let her down.

So,

here it is, my soul.

Here it is,

my promise.

I wrote this

for you.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

GB Rogut

Jack of all trades, mistress of poetry. Mexicana. Bi. Autistic. She/Her. You can support me on Patreon https://www.patreon.com/musingabout or visit my tree https://linktr.ee/GbRogut

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.