Poets logo

What if

Thoughts are your enemy but it doesn't help when someone encourages them

By A. NguyenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
What if
Photo by Domingo Alvarez E on Unsplash

Of all the ones before

you scare me the most.

Why? Simple.

What if.

It shouldn’t have been so easy.

The laughter, smiles, stories,

accepting my biggest flaw…

You should’ve been gone by now,

that has been the norm for me

and yet with every fumble

you still answer, an anomaly

I'm not quite sure what to make of.

Enough damage can be dealt

with my thoughts and brain alone

so why speak such enticing words?

Sure, mere passing thoughts

but they sting more than

any spoken in my own voice

because they’re from you,

one-sided turned mutual.

Dangerous.

“If you were here”

“I could teach you”

“When you’re back”

“Together” “we”

An ongoing list filled

with words I want

but won’t entertain.

I can't.

I've already built my sand castle

on the unstable promises of what if

so why must you add yours as well?

Why build my tower higher to leave

more destruction in its wake

and fuel the fire of my imagination

as it burns everything to the ground?

sad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.