Poets logo

What ̶I̶ ̶w̶i̶s̶h̶ I did

a serious limerick

By R.C. TaylorPublished about a year ago 1 min read
6
What  ̶I̶ ̶w̶i̶s̶h̶  I did
Photo by George Bakos on Unsplash

one night you screamed at me until I had a panic attack and kept screaming

̶I̶ ̶b̶r̶o̶k̶e̶ ̶u̶p̶ ̶w̶i̶t̶h̶ ̶y̶o̶u̶,̶ ̶c̶a̶l̶l̶e̶d̶ ̶m̶y̶ ̶b̶e̶s̶t̶ ̶f̶r̶i̶e̶n̶d̶s̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶c̶a̶t̶c̶h̶ ̶m̶e̶ ̶w̶h̶i̶l̶e̶ ̶I̶ ̶w̶a̶s̶ ̶s̶t̶i̶l̶l̶ ̶r̶e̶e̶l̶i̶n̶g̶

it felt out of nowhere, the tidal shift in you. you apologized. I forgave you.

̶i̶t̶ ̶w̶a̶s̶ ̶a̶ ̶b̶i̶l̶l̶o̶w̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶r̶e̶d̶ ̶f̶l̶a̶g̶ ̶t̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶I̶ ̶i̶m̶m̶e̶d̶i̶a̶t̶e̶l̶y̶ ̶u̶s̶e̶d̶ ̶a̶s̶ ̶a̶ ̶p̶a̶r̶a̶c̶h̶u̶t̶e̶ ̶ ̶

then I began to lose myself, body moving, mind sleep-walk dreaming

sad poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetrylove poemsheartbreak
6

About the Creator

R.C. Taylor

Part-time daydreamer. Full-time dork.

Follow along for stories about a little bit of everything (i.e. adventure, nostalgia, and other affairs of the heart, and anything else I want to honor and hold space for).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Very deep, I felt this one. Great job and I love how the options are crossed out in lieu of what was chosen. I hope this gets a top story spot.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Such unique and innovative style. Well done!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I really love your style! Amazing limerick! 😍

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh that was full of emotion. And loved the crossed out lines, added such a great punch to the meaning. Great work!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Wow, Rachel! This one is so impactful! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.