Poets logo

What I Leave Out When I Pray

Comfort in being carried

By Eric DovigiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
What I Leave Out When I Pray
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I remember being bathed in the kitchen sink

by my Grandmother. I have lived in depths.

Little depths. The warmth of the water,

the arc of the sun through the window,

the smell of suds – I remember.

I remember being carried

to my bedroom in the arms of my father,

and how the light in the hallway

after having closed eyes for so long

was bleached yellow, altered yellow, different and strange.

When I was a child I used to play with light.

I remember considering what to leave out when I prayed.

This was my birth as a writer.

My first lies were prayers.

My prayers had a beginning, a middle, and an end

And I always saved a cat at the beginning.

I am sitting alone in a coffee shop. I am thirty.

I am young enough to live entirely over again

and still be younger than my father is now.

Being carried makes me comfortable.

Only I can carry myself these days.

My father is too old.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Eric Dovigi

I am a writer and musician living in Arizona. I write about weird specific emotions I feel. I didn't like high school. I eat out too much. I stand 5'11" in basketball shoes.

Twitter: @DovigiEric

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.