Poets logo

God Damn I Want to Buy You Stuff

No turning back now.

By Eric DovigiPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Runner-Up in From Across the Room Challenge
16
credit: Lany-Jade Mondou

God damn, I want you.

Now that I have seen you, I want you.

No turning back.

But wanting is not nice, wanting is an ugly spectacle.

Wanting is a big peach square,

a tooth in a pit,

and an ugly deckchair pinned beneath a body in clothes,

and the tide.

Wanting is a wrinkly strawberry.

Tiny wriggling things.

Worms in apples.

Wanting is a crumbly façade masking

a hundred rooms, a gate, and a lock.

The ashen brook that tumbles around it like a moat,

and all the monogamous ducks there laughing at me.

Wanting you is a taut cream shoulder,

the space between the rib-cage and the bicep,

a lifetime of work for a minute of living,

a lapping ocean on a sandy beach.

Now that I have seen you, with your perfect fingers clutching that coffee

Like it was passed down through generations,

I want you. Shit.

I want to buy you stuff. I want to demonstrate that I love you.

Or that I could. I want to prove that I could prove that I love you.

Does that make sense?

Have you ever seen someone across the room

and wanted to buy them stuff at first sight?

This could be an issue, since I have no money.

At any rate, here is your refill. Please come into my coffee shop again.

Every day, maybe. Or just a few times a week. I'm flexible.

In a sense, we're already meeting for coffee dates.

I mean, that is not inaccurate.

I hope that no one comes in to meet you.

I hope you keep reading your book there by the window and leave in a melancholy state.

Wouldn't that be great?

Do you like De La Soul? Turmeric tea? The way that leaves turn upside down before it rains?

God damn. I want you. I want to get to know you gently, steadily,

Day by day,

Until one morning we find ourselves knowing each other totally,

Like a leaf that not only knows it's about to rain,

but what that means.

love poems
16

About the Creator

Eric Dovigi

I am a writer and musician living in Arizona. I write about weird specific emotions I feel. I didn't like high school. I eat out too much. I stand 5'11" in basketball shoes.

Twitter: @DovigiEric

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.