Poets logo

What Happens If Nothing Is Out There

As Submitted To The Extraterrestrial Challenge

By Marc OBrienPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
1
Books By Lithuanian/American Author Marc O'Brien

Nothing for miles

At warp speed traveling in style

Enjoying galactic hits playing

Not knowing the lyrics, the artificial intelligence is saying.

Humming along

Cruising to the beat of the song

Nothing could go wrong.

Until I checked my tank

Not much left in the fuel bank

Need to pick up energy funds.

Or my free-spirited journey would be done.

Without any light coming from

A profit like the sun

Then there was a sign

An oasis where I could unwind.

And dine.

Then clear my mind.

Spending no more then a dime

Billboard advertises “a bush that burns.”

Stating a message of concern

Allowing the visitor to ponder and learn.

Just take the next right turn

And park by the station displaying an urn.

I ventured towards the tease.

When arriving handed the valet the spaceship keys

Noticed aliens doing the work.

Wondering if they earned a barrel filled with pork.

Earning to defend

From the enemy human

Attacking the outpost

Which acts as host

Not wanting a roast

I asked wanting to be heard,

To my surprise someone heard,

“how does the government afford this?”

“I make a wish,

To the moon”

Answered an animated cartoon.

Riding a mustang horse

Sipping Tang, being the information source

Showing a fang, of course

I inquire, “what are you?”

“I am a horned frog, you fool,”

Holding an iron skillet

“Do you want me to fill it?”

Ham, eggs or cheese

Anything you please

“I will order a hearty T-Bone steak,

How long will it take?”

A little later

The waiter

Appeared

Carrying a plate, remains of a steer

“Here”

The committed honest character bellowed.

Presenting his true color, yellow

“It’s on the house

Complementary gift sent by your future spouse,”

Sitting there

Freshing her hair

Wanting a romantic affair

After I ate

The meal that was great

Went to bed

And soon found myself, wed

Inside a small chapel

Underneath the spiritual big apple

All it took,

Was a horned frog, aboard a mustang who knew how to cook,

To end the bachelor chapter in my memoir book

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work! Great take on the challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.