Poets logo

WELCOME TO 'OH WELL'

The Ghost (#1)

By I OmnistPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

THE GHOST

Silence does indeed speak volumes.

Every response has been little more than vague

I say "I love you"; not confirming is considered rude.

Not to mention how you avoid me like the plague.

Silence has been well, it allows you to think

Think perhaps, that I won't do what you intended

Calamity and chaos are not what rolls around my rink.

Time, or another person, have always been what's mended.

Once again I've been left for dead

Like a long abandoned, forget me not.

A keepsake that rests in the back of the head

Or, a not often visited burial plot.

You'll come to realize how resilient I am

And you know I won't say "I told you so".

I did indeed do all that I can

It sucks the way things ended though.

So, I write now from the other side.

Watching you from a surreal afar;

Wondering if the punishment fits the crime.

I'm the only one that knows who you are.

I cared too much, which you don't care to see

I worried about issues that many who love you would.

I'm the one suspended in limbo, as you'd agree.

Leaving me in the dark again, is no longer any good.

I may appear different now

Being viewed through the eyes of contempt.

I'm wondering if there's anything-

That can't be feigned you won't resent.

So, play your silent treatment game

And act like everything is fine.

Deep down inside I know you're lame.

In time, you'll look back on moments you were mine.

Oh well, whatever, eventually I'll be just fine.

I'll rise above the silent abandon,

And conceal my pain in rhythm and rhyme.

It hurts though, to say good-bye, my friend.

By: Charles Poore

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

I Omnist

Philosopher, philanthropist, poet, philanderer, paramour and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.