Poets logo

Welcome to MySpace...

The Joseph Wilson experience...

By Joseph Wilson IIIPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I've been standing at this road for entirely too long.

A gasp at the transparencies throughout the complexions of life.

I've been idle for what feels like ages...

I’m finally ready to rewind the pages, man enough to finally face my past.

Realization is a curse.



Life is thrown at you in paces.

Get going, keep up, or get out.

Sometimes the universe provides windows allowing us growth.

All of us are pretending to hold it together, that's a fact that I know.

Missed opportunities are the worst...



I still pretend that I'm kin with old friends...

These men and women have a point-it was 'I' betraying them.

I contend-in the end-I did get everything that I deserved.

But what really happens through the course of maturation?

I still feel the same, physically.

I wear tattooed tears that transcend what you think.

If you take a closer look you'll find a man on the brink.

Chaos and tragedy spreading their scorn on my arms,

You'll find my loves, devotions, burdens, and harms.

I'm addicted to expression.



Sometimes, time remolds a mind that's thickheaded-into a brain that just 'clicks.'

You found the key to start living-you've been content to exist.

See, life all comes down to what you have in your heart.

The best of intentions can burn fucking bridges if a man doesn't know how to start.

I could see the path to the 'me' I wanted to be, like it was a yellow brick road built underneath the Red Sea.

It was that unclear.

I had wandered so far away from what filled me with glee I was projecting a completely different person for the whole world to see.

Growth HAD to be my next addiction.



Here I am.

The Joseph Wilson experience... Borderline delirious...

Finally grown, all alone, sometimes serious.

Never afraid talking about the mistakes I have made,

All of that pain turned to pennance I've paid.

Two little blessings during the worst three years of my life,

I had a monster living with me inside.

You couldn't even imagine inside of my head,

you've never thought through emotions I've bled!



I was clinging to life like an analog connection.

I killed ALL love around me using pain as a weapon.

This is the man that I am...

A common misconception?

Underestimation is a powerful deception.

If you have been to the bottom, then I know you can feel me,

I will soon recover from what that woman did to me.

I'm not talking about heartache, because everyone has,

I'm no longer content with you thinking I'm last.



There is winning, and losing-finally I am defeated.

Wearing wounds from my wartime still open, depleted.

Not like the sinner that I used to be,

removing the shadow ; albeit slowly.

I'm simply a man whose been blessed, and reborn.

I am on my way back,

I feel that you should be warned.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Joseph Wilson III

A Pisces, taught to swim the shores along the Gulf of Mexico before learning how to walk the beaches.

Don’t waste your time-Live every single second of your existence only chasing the things that help you grow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.