Poets logo

I've got Demons

(really...)

By Joseph Wilson IIIPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I've got demons that still live with me,

they are still alive.

Accepting that I'm one of them,

was finding truth in lies.

You see, the devil's in the details -

the ones I never read.

Ignoring almost everything

allowing them to breed.

PEOPLE LET ME BREATHE!

I just need a minute.

Can we slow down a second

So I can sharpen up my weapon.

Okay, my tongue is ready,

I didn't need much time.

Truth is, I was already to go

chaos rules my mind.

Nobody knows all the trouble I've seen!

I'm publishing stories about my nightmares,

as fast as I can write the scenes!

Welcome to my world,

Welcome to my life!

Welcome to the carnival,

I hope that you enjoy the ride.

People, I DIDN'T FUCKING DIE!

because I took my growth in stride.

There have been times where I've been high,

I'd think 'That's gotta be a lie."

I know I don't believe,

what you cannot comprehend,

Survival was my only skill

while living in such sin.

Well, that - and writing with a pen,

My pains for everyone to see.

for anyone to read.

There is no more room inside of me,

no more agony to bleed!

A man will lose his soul,

if he hasn't any goals.

Everything he knows,

he stores above his nose.

That's why the struggles I've seen,

that I said were serene.

They were more than a dream,

leading me to the scene.

I arose from the ground -

in the aftermath

after looking Satan in the eyes,

and then looking right passed.

I'm still here standing,

not even a scratch.

Threw my demons in hell,

and then I lit the match.

So here I am now,

and here I am not.

I don't have much of anything,

But I feel I've got a lot.

In my soul,

I fight a war,

a war that I have won.

I try to go to sleep, I can't -

next morning - again it has begun.

Just when I finally conquered,

the devil in my way.

The alarm clock goes off,

and I begin another day.

I send my Demons back to hell,

but they are never really alone.

That real estate is hot right now,

I own a couple homes.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Joseph Wilson III

A Pisces, taught to swim the shores along the Gulf of Mexico before learning how to walk the beaches.

Don’t waste your time-Live every single second of your existence only chasing the things that help you grow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.