Poets logo

Welcome Home Son

Not all things are bad at home

By Tyrel CurtisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Welcome Home Son
Photo by Mark Olsen on Unsplash

Slowly opening the door

Entering

The gates of paradise

My big brown eyes

Begin to radiate

From the blinding

Light of the Sun.

As my father quickly reaching to his side

For his magical new piece,

Not noticing the true growth

Of his 2nd eldest son.

Soon coming to his senses

A relaxed smile

Then grows on his scruffy face.

While my canine friend

Spins in circles

To express the excitement

Jolting through the darkest night fur

on his fluffy body

Like it has been hit by a gentle touch of electricity.

Younger siblings to me,

They run

Filled with joy,

Inappropriate jokes and puns.

To see how much they have grown

Tears of triumph form in my eyes,

As little brothers are no longer little,

But taller than older brother.

The smell of roses sits on the tip of my nostrils

The aroma is as fresh as the air

That flows in and out the living room

Laughs and smiles

Dances around the royal blue and smoky grey home

Echoing joy throughout our bones

The Inviting energies

Then drew silent

And turned to the entrance of the kitchen

The smell of freshly baked

Cinnamon rolls

Filled the air with a smell so sweet

It forms cavities in your teeth

I turn my face, to view

What everyone else sees

It’s my goddess of a mother

Staring at me

with her large brown eyes

Gazing in amazement.

Beautiful tears of pure love

Begin to run down her cheek

As she jolts forward

And squeezes the breath out of my whimpering lungs

As if I just returned home from war

In the clutches of the hug of the century

And the only thing on my mind

Was the glaze dripping,

Mouthwatering,

Tongue sizzling,

& Eye-popping,

Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

Sitting in the middle of the round

Smoky marble table.

Grateful to be welcomed home

With so much love,

Curiosity and joy

But I’m hungry.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tyrel Curtis

I take her hand, hold it close

she cries, I overdose

pondering why, her puddle of tears

gets me high.

~My native tongue is POETRY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.