Poets logo

Weighed Blanket

Smooth Poem

By Chloe GilholyPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
Weighed Blanket
Photo by Amin Hasani on Unsplash

Outside it is dark and wet,

but not inside my blanket.

I sink into the soft fabric.

Winter warmth tastes like magic.

I cocoon in the thick quilt,

Allowing cushions to tilt.

A deep touch stimulation,

Sweet dreams turn to fruitaton.

Gentle fibres beneath my

fingers brush in between try,

to impersonate cats.

My mind erases the twats.

I am safe when I inhale.

I can relax when I exhale.

I curl, rocking side to side:

Rest is one heck of a ride.

Celadon tunes soothing eyes.

Craving sweet potato fries,

Chocolate marshmallows and tea,

This night will make history.

Cinnamon frosted latte…

Goodnight sleep is here to say.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Smooth cozy poem🥰I have to put that weight blanket on my Santa List for sure .

  • Cinnamon frosted latte, chocolate marshmallows and tea. You've made me hungry. Lol. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.