Poets logo

Weakness

a serpent coiled within my chest

By Moharif YuliantoPublished 10 days ago 2 min read
Weakness
Photo by Stijn Swinnen on Unsplash

Weakness, a serpent coiled within my chest,

A silent whisper, testing me at my best.

It sheds its skin in forms I know too well,

Self-doubt's cold grip, a fear that casts a spell.

The Mask of Insecurity

It hides behind a mask of shyness deep,

A trembling voice where confidence should sleep.

In crowded rooms, a wall I build so high,

Invisible chains that hold my spirit dry.

The yearning to connect, a silent plea,

But weakness whispers, "You're not meant to be

Seen or heard, your words will fall on deaf ears,"

Leaving me paralyzed, drowning in my fears.

The Grip of Procrastination

It morphs into the slothful, tempting guise,

Of putting things aside, ignoring duties' cries.

A promise whispered, "There's always time tomorrow,"

While deadlines loom, casting a veil of sorrow.

Important tasks become a distant blur,

The weight of them a burden I can't concur.

Weakness feeds on moments meant for action,

Leaving me stagnant, lost in inaction.

The Shadow of Self-Criticism

It takes the form of a relentless critic's tongue,

Dissecting failures, every triumph unsung.

"Not good enough," it echoes in my mind,

Minimizing progress, leaving dreams behind.

The joy of creation, a fleeting spark,

Extinguished by negativity's cruel mark.

Weakness thrives on self-inflicted stings,

A constant battle fought on fragile wings.

The Crushing Weight of Perfectionism

It manifests as a tyrant in disguise,

Demanding flawless actions, setting impossible skies.

Every mistake magnified, a scarlet stain,

Leaving me paralyzed, trapped in its domain.

The fear of failure, a crippling weight to bear,

Hinders progress, leaving goals in despair.

Weakness thrives on the quest for an unseen line,

Where imperfection finds no place to shine.

The Strength Within

But within the shadows, a flicker of light,

A whisper of resilience, a will to fight.

For weakness, though powerful, is not the end,

It's a challenge to overcome, a foe to transcend.

Acceptance is the armor that I wield,

Acknowledging flaws, on my own battleground I stand revealed.

Self-compassion, a balm for the wounded soul,

A gentle nudge to rise and take back control.

Embracing Imperfection

Small steps forward, defying doubt's embrace,

Celebrating progress, finding beauty in this race.

Learning from mistakes, not dwelling in their hold,

Building strength and courage, a story yet untold.

Weakness may linger, a serpent by my side,

But I'll confront its whispers, with purpose as my guide.

For in the struggle, a warrior I become,

Embracing imperfection, finding strength in the hum

Of a life lived fully, with all its flaws and might,

Turning weaknesses into stepping stones, reaching for the light.

Elegy

About the Creator

Moharif Yulianto

a freelance writer and thesis preparation in his country, youtube content creator, facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Moharif YuliantoWritten by Moharif Yulianto

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.