Poets logo

We Used To Be

Poetry about moving on

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
We Used To Be
Photo by Arif Riyanto on Unsplash

I recall going out with my friends

One day when it rained outside

Just for a while, it poured a lot

Then a light drizzle

Until nothing came

And the sun decided to come out

I stared out the window

Silence stayed still

As a smile was plastered on my lips

Until someone called my name

Grabbing my attention

I tore my gaze away from the window

And looked at them

When they asked me about you

That if we were still friends

If we still keep in touch

It was like time came to a stop

I froze and my smile faltered for a moment

I looked down at my cup of coffee

The warmth of it spreading to my hands

Memories of us rushed back to me

Seconds passed for a while

Until I finally looked back up to them

A sad smile upon my lips

I spoke so softly,

“We used to be.”

But nothing lasts forever.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.