Poets logo

We Saw Him One Last Time

Gone In The Middle Of The Night

By Kristina SteffyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

This is a poem I had wrote when I was in 6th grade. My grandpa had passed a couple years before then. I wrote this poem about the last time we saw him and that very night he passed on.

God allowed us to see him,

One last time.

He gave each us kids a hat,

And flowers for mom.

When we had left,

We thought we'd see him again.

The night got dark,

We were ready for bed,

But we didn't know what was coming our way.

The phone had rung,

Mom had answered.

When she hung up,

She told us to head to the car.

Mom had told us what was happening.

We got to the hospital,

But grandma wasn't there.

A doctor came in and told us the news.

He was blue before he got there.

He was gone when he got there.

Grandma didn't know right away.

When she knew, she was sad.

We all missed him,

But we knew where he was going.

Grandma told us his last words when he was at home,

"I'll be alright, I'll be alright."

Life left him so fast,

But I am so glad I saw him before he left.

This just reminds me, that life is short. My sister felt awful after he had passed. She felt guilty because she was rude to our grandpa that last time we saw him. Wishing she could take it back. We never know when we will see our loved ones again; so we should always cherish the moments when we are with them.

Thank you for reading!

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Kristina Steffy

Writing is my passion. I try to put my all into each and every story. I love to either give advice, make someone laugh, or even a heart felt discussion. I write as if I was talking to you face to face. I hope you enjoy reading my Stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.