Poets logo

We Can't Be Friends, My Version

Inspired By Lyrics From "We Can't Be Friends" By Ariana Grande

By Angel AdagioPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
We Can't Be Friends, My Version
Photo by Finn Hackshaw on Unsplash

We can't be friends

I cannot force you to like me no matter how hard I try,

and believe me, I have tried.

But I'd like to just pretend

Because the thought of letting go has made me lose sleep at night.

You cling to your papers and pens

I cling to the memories that I want to live again.

Waiting till you like me again

But I don't know if that'll ever happen.

And so I will keep waiting and hoping to have that again,

waiting and hoping to know I'm enough.

But, reality is more sound that my hopes,

and that's okay.

Just wanna let this story die,

and I'll be alright.

love poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. Your support is much appreciated. It may not be perfect, but it's real. I hope you'll stay a while.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Oh, sad. Don't wait, move on, move on.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.