Poets logo

Way of Words

Where did they go?

By Ali KerrPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wish I could created such words

that would connect our hearts,

our souls, or minds,

isn't that what words do?

They wrap these invisible strings

to our hearts, attaching themselves,

winding, twisting, binding us

with their power and strength,

it's the only way we understand the

screaming chaos in our minds,

if we can sort through the screams together.

But sadly, those words, those beautiful

letters that bring our bodies and wonderfully

strange minds together, have escaped me.

Trust me, I have spent nights searching

the deepest corners of my mind to

find those hidden words, the ones

that fit so perfectly together to confess

my heart's most colourful dreams.

The words seem lost in the breeze,

those words that brought you to me.

And now I struggle to fill these papers

with any words that come to mind, not the

strategic lines I once devoted my life to

creating, no, it's almost as if they have

dissipated and became the some that escapes my dry, cracked lips.

But somehow it was you all along,

the one who brought colour and words

into my heart, causing them to pour out

of me so beautifully and when you left

it's as if you took all the words with you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ali Kerr

"If the world is cold, make it your business to build fires."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.