Poets logo

Wasted Words

Weaving with wonder

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 1 min read
22
Image courtesy of Pixabay

A Tautogram

A tautogram is a text in which all words start with the same letter. Historically, tautograms were mostly poetical forms. (Wikipedia)

Here is my entry in the Tautogram challenge.

Wasted Words

Weaving with wonder

We wander within winding walkways,

Wishing with wounded words,

Weeping with wisdom,

Wanting what we were wanting.

***

Wondering why we were waiting,

Whenever we were working,

Writing with what was within,

Wordsmith was well worth writing.

***

Walkabouts where well watered wildflowers winter,

Wispy willows wander walkways,

With wallabies wallowing when waking,

Wasting weeks when waddling wayward.

***

Why?

Would we wilt when we win?

What would we want with winning?

When we’d welcome winners who were willing.

***

Wintering within wild weather,

Weeping wingless wilderness wasps wailing,

Worse, warm water will wash weeping worms,

Wiggling within wet winter winds.

***

We wouldn’t wish worsening wounds,

Wrapping with willingness worshipped,

When weekdays wind weekly,

Whispering with what we were watching.

***

Well well,

Who’d we wound?

Will we wear whispers

With wonderful words?

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

how to
22

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Collin this was an amazingly well executed tautogram, I am in awe of your talent! You are a wordsmith!

  • That is awesome.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Love it. Very touching! This one definitely gets a few extra hearts! 💖💖💖

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    What a wonderful spell you weave! This was very well done, but also, very deep and touching.

  • Beautiful, mesmerizing, wafting through our minds like winsome winds, wandering through our wounded hearts, filled with discontent & asking why.

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Well done! I especially loved that first stanza!

  • My dear kindred spirit, my jaw was on the floor from the beginning to the end of your tautogram! I am beyond amazed with what you've created here. Amazed and impressed is an understatement! I can barely make a sentence with the same starting letters. But you, not a sentence, not a poem but a multiple stanza poem that not only makes sense and is so deep but so gorgeous as well. If you didn't win this, I'd be very disappointed!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderful words, indeed. Well done, my friend.

  • Great job ✨💖👍💯

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.