Poets logo

Warrior in a cage

a poem what it feels like when i am at the darkest moments of my life.

By Brandi LansdownePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’m a warrior as they say

Then why don’t I feel like one

In my weakest moments

Along my travels I met to many

As I die tonight I wonder

Why It took so long.

Waited for so long for something that I cannot hold.

Something I cannot touch.

I wonder how long it will take.

As I linger, I watch as the sun goes down.

Will this be the night?

To fight off my demons

Once again, I cannot say what they are.

The voices becoming too many once again.

I wish upon the falling star.

As he danced along the gravestones

I just want to be free once again.

But these chains of pain keep me here.

In the darkness of this cage

The empty and the void keep telling me things.

I hold my breath waiting for the light.

To come again into my life

Only to find moments of darkness

The only thing I know anymore is to fight.

To survive another night

Another day arises to meet my eyes.

I ask for no more, but they keep coming.

Holding onto these burning bars

The pain rises.

To give me the pain I need to keep going until I cannot anymore.

Got to fight one more battle.

Got to hold on for one more reason.

Counting my blessings and my reasons

Even them are dimming but they cling to me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brandi Lansdowne

Podcast: blonde with a black streak

zazzle: hallowed Halloween

etsy: hallowed Halloween

twitch: thorin11233

instagram: gothie12

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.