Poets logo

Walking On.....Blazing A Trail

A PVIM Challenge: We'z Walking on...

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
14
Walking On.....Blazing A Trail
Photo by Yaoqi on Unsplash

*

I'm walking cross' those burning bridges

the ones that led away from you

Tapping my toes, flipping those switches

forgetting all you put me through

Boot stomping on those fragile egg shells

that kept me hangin on the edge

Two stepping round the ledge of hell

in my pink Louis Vuitton wedges

Billy bouncing to the freedom

my booty poppin' to the beat

Making my way, straight out of Eden

holding my own on my own two feet

Don't need permission to go swinging

I'm not afraid to bring the heat

I've doubled down on my bling-blinging

this is the last you'll see of me

As I am stepping into the sunlight

using the past as steppingstones

Riding those shooting stars through twilight

crushing your love under my toes

*

I'm walking cross' those burning bridges

the ones that led away from you

Tapping my toes, flipping those switches

forgetting all you put me through

slam poetrylove poemsinspirationalhumorFor Fun
14

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Laura DePace16 days ago

    What a satisfying statement! You go!

  • ROCK 21 days ago

    Keep blinging and boppin'! Some bridges deserve to be burned! Well done Kelli! xx ROCK

  • This was so freaking powerful! So brilliant!

  • Shirley Belk21 days ago

    Kelli, this needs to be a song. I can see Gwen Stefani do it....LOVE this!!!

  • Caroline Craven21 days ago

    Oh wow! This was so sassy and clever! Sounds like she’s better off without him! This is a great challenge entry. Good luck!

  • Love it. So lol.

  • Jazzy 21 days ago

    This felt very musical and I loved that

  • Fantastic poem! 🤡

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.