Poets logo

Walk Free

The way beauty standards keep us from being free

By Nailah RobinsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Walk Free
Photo by René Porter on Unsplash

Velvet painting on the wall

Fire in it's place below

Moon shinning brightly through a window

Room full of love

Silky, sexy, shinning red dress

Hair up in a messy bun

Gloves up to here

Split up to there

High heeled feet holding up legs for days

My wine is spilling the tea in this glass

As I entertain the masses

Suddenly a shot rings out

Everybody scurrying around

But my heels hold me down

Stuck in the grated floor

I reach for the door

It closes with a bang

Another shot rang

Alone in a white empty space

A hand mirror by my side

No windows, no doors, no floor

Just me and my mirror

I look through the glass

Braids for days

Long white gown

I hear a voice calling out to me

Nobody's here that I can see

Wild free

Undeniably me

I reach out

And somebody takes hold

And pulls me through

Suddenly jeans and tshirts become me

The newest sneakers on my feet

Ponytail high and flowing

I sling my bag over my shoulder

And I walk free

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Nailah Robinson

Author, Mother, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Cousin, Daughter In Law, Sister In Law, Friend, Grand Daughter, Niece, Teacher, and Student. I am so many things to so many people, but in the end, I'm just Nailah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.