Poets logo

Waiting

an original poem by Jason White

By Jason WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Waiting
Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

I was gifted a life that most only dream of

Not by ease of choice

But through fire and forgery of pain

Within this abomination

Of an intuitive pathway

I hoped it would come to a clearing

Where my head I could lay

On the lap of my beloved

Where a home we would build

To raise those who would carry us

Through to old age

However, that is not what became

The life I was gifted

Could not have been more sweet

I couldn’t quit bleeding

And I bled all over the one I loved

The one that swore that I’d be the only one

Had to walk away

Because I couldn’t sustain

The life that I asked for and was given

So now I replace my happiness

For more pain

Perhaps I am not done

Being forged into greatness

Perhaps I thought I was gifted

The life I wanted

Perhaps you are still out there

And I just need to wait

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jason White

Jason White is a father, a grandfather, knowledge seeker and sharer. Jason is the owner of Growth Positive Consulting where he puts his fundraising and management skills to great use. He is a writer, a woodworker, and a philanthropist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.