Poets logo

Mechanical Heart

an original poem by Jason White

By Jason WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Mechanical Heart
Photo by Aaron Barnaby on Unsplash

Mechanical eyes

Mechanical thoughts

For this mechanical heart

Forsaken spirit

Forsaken trust

For my forsaken life

I have been given the signs

I have been shown the path

Yet I close my eyes

And stray so far

The machination of my being

Has forsaken me to who I am

I am a forgery of the man

I was intended to be

I cannot be more transparent

Though it hurts

For I do not want all to see

What I have within me

Only darkness consumes me

Darkness,

And the mechanics that move me

The darkness causes them to forsake me

I want to hide away

But I must put on my face

And attempt to pretend

Reality does not exist

Mechanical parts

Made to move a forsaken man

I continue to search far and wide

For a real heart

So, I can become the man

I was intended to be

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Jason White

Jason White is a father, a grandfather, knowledge seeker and sharer. Jason is the owner of Growth Positive Consulting where he puts his fundraising and management skills to great use. He is a writer, a woodworker, and a philanthropist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.