Poets logo

Waiting

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
11
Waiting
Photo by Marina Grynykha on Unsplash

I had plans

Now I have nothing

But time on my hands

Sitting here

Staring at these three walls

Wishing I could break through the fourth

Soft melodies in my head

Of a man lost to time

Unknown to those closest to him

Thinking

Will that be me?

Set adrift in oblivion

Waiting to begin again

Reflecting on the sins of men

In a world of pain

How do we heal?

When everything is on fire

And every day is a new war

That has to be fought

But must we?

Now?

In this hour?

Led by cowards

Unwilling to do the work

Must we fight?

For what little we’ve got

Where do I slot in?

One day

Only to be forgotten

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
11

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    You are breaking through the fourth wall, actually. Your words are getting read. :-)

  • It is good to get your words out

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    I hope your work as a historian keeps proving to you that not all people are lost to time. Certainly, with your writing, you're carving out a place for yourself!

  • Sarah D9 months ago

    at least you wrote your feelings

  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    So glad you ditched the letter edits 🥰

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    That was great. "How do we heal? When everything is on fire And every day is a new war" Indeed.

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    Excellent use if that time today!

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    I really enjoyed this poem, honest and brave. Why do we always have to fight eh?

  • This was so emotional, profound and thought provoking! Loved your poem!

  • Even as we evanesce to the rest of the world & all we have is time without any plans, I find I still don't have enough time!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Emotionally heartbreaking!!!♥️♥️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.