Poets logo

Waist Not, Want Not

by Julie Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
40

I once was a skinny youth,

But those are days gone by.

I ate whatever pleased my taste,

And topped it off with pie.

*

But now, my stomach has grown out,

My arms have flappy skin.

Where once I saw a slim profile,

I have a double chin.

*

Yes, I like food, I must confess,

I eat three times a day.

But then my butt balloons right up,

And it won’t go away.

*

Dieting is not for me,

I tried it once or twice.

I like the taste of sav’ry food,

Not celery and rice.

*

Don’t get me started on fried foods,

I’d eat them anytime.

But diet food looks just like dirt,

The taste should be a crime.

*

So, please forgive me if I dare

To keep my extra curves.

You run an extra lap, my friend.

I’ll have some more hors d’oerves.

slam poetry
40

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    lol. Love it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.