Poets logo

Vulnerable Skin

Poetry

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Vulnerable Skin

What if I actually told you I needed you,

Instead of suffering alone.

Would you come in at heartbeat,

Or call me on the phone.

Even if I did,

What would that mean for me,

Am I taking time away from you,

Maybe I'm just having a pity party.

Even with those who are close,

How many do we actually let in,

What are we willing to let people know?

To actually let them see our vulnerable skin.

We as people are taught to first consider others,

To put our pain aside,

And to put on a brave face for one another.

To then set our vulnerability aside,

As if it is a weakness,

But then tend to everyone else who cries,

Even when you're going sleepless.

But when you're suffering alone,

Your feelings are valid,

And your real friends will be shown,

Hiding your pain shouldn't be a talent.

Because no matter where you are,

Or how numb or empty you feel,

There is someone not so far,

With the compassion to help you heal.

But it's up to you to make the first step,

Because those who can help,

Can't see the twists in your web,

Only what you show on your outer shell.

So, believe me,

It’s hard to let people in,

But you will never be free,

If you don't show your vulnerable skin.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.