Poets logo

Voice

A Poem

By Elizabeth RosePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Memories,

Flicker of moments.

Remembering the party,

Making my stomach do a painful swoop.

My chest cavity must have been mistaken for a cabinet to hide the liquor in.

Light,

Luminously,

Brightly,

Blinding me from where we were going.

Gasping,

I felt the cold leather on my back.

You must have dropped a boulder on me,

A very warm rock with hands.

Strong,

Cold calloused hands,

Kneading my flesh.

I couldn’t shout,

I was stone,

Molding,

Disappearing into the couch.

Your soft silk hair brushed my cheek,

As if to comfort me from the vile act you were executing.

Suddenly,

I could exhale.

My expanding rib cage,

Made me move.

Adjusting myself,

I stumbled to any door,

Escaping the sound of your vexing voice calling my name.

And that’s what I’ll never forget,

Your voice.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Rose

Hello, my name is Liz! I have been a freelance writer for a few months now. I am currently working with a true crime blog called, When the Sun Sets. I do research, and write a clear narrative on the crime at hand.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.