Poets logo

vivi dissectio

my death in increments

By Caroline JanePublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
18
vivi dissectio
Photo by Heather Zabriskie on Unsplash

Every tick of the day pricks

86400 biopsies

of lost life

***

Author's note:

This poem arose from a conversation with new friends.

One asked whether having cancer had changed me in any way. With the rage of a hundred stormy seas thundering in my ears, I was definite and succinct with my answer: Absolutely not.

Cancer had nearly killed me, but I would be damned if it were stealing any more of me. In no way would I concede that I had been a victim. Cancer could not be allowed even the smallest win. I was in charge of my life, not a second of it would I spend licking wounds.

Later, thunderous seas having subsided in my head, I was chatting with my husband. You have changed, he said. Since having cancer, you have a new sense of urgency. You will not waste a second, and it seems to hurt when you believe you have.

He was correct.

Every wasted tick truly does prick.

Whatever war we wage, there is always a cost.

#fuckcancer.

sad poetry
18

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    Well done, Caroline Jane:)

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    11 words that make you just stop and think powerfully done

  • Oh this was very heartbreaking but written very beautifully!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Melancholy moments😢😢😢

  • Excellent few words, the right ones delivered with power

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Poignant, stirring, emotional, poem. Proof that less is more. This is a Wonderful creation Caroline.🥰

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh man. This is such a melancholy topic but I love how you worded it - the perfect amount of grace and matter-of-fact ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Every wasted second. Well done.

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    string truth nice one Caroline 😊

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Ahh, this is a rough one. Every second of every day. So sad but elegantly penned.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.