Poets logo

Virgin

A Poem

By Brynne NelsonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

In time now faded almost out of memory,

Hidden between pages heavy with dust

(Like sleepy eyelids)

Gentlemen call me lily and snow,

White, clean, fragile;

Of value beyond name.

Now in pages thin and slick

With the grease of shame and filth

(My eyes sealed to shun the pictures)

Cads call me names unbefitting

The honor of their grandmothers,

The manners of their grandfathers,

Because they have forgotten the value of

The flower unplucked.

Would rape every blossom

From its pure vine

(So their eyes hiding tight in shame might open)

And burn its soft petals,

Melt the clean snow

With impure fire.

Like what you read? Leave me a tip so I can keep generating great content!

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brynne Nelson

I'm a wife, mother, and writer. I have a passion for crafting stories and poems and posts. Please check out my work; I hope you enjoy it! If you do, feel free to leave a tip so that I can keep generating cool content!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.