Poets logo

When the Night Falls

A Poem

By Brynne NelsonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

The sky sighs and lets the stars out

And the light—it's allowed to

Relax

And curl into the dark's comforting arms.

The breeze sings softly,

Joyfully,

Free to brush the shadows

Lovingly

With its softest touch.

The moon, distanced from beloved Earth

Can at least, at last,

Caress Her face with His gentle fingers of

Light.

And in their nests birds

Find their mates again, cooing together before they fall asleep.

Everywhere there is

Softness,

A loving touch,

The passion of day ending its longing,

Kissing the dark again in the satin of night's

Blanketing.

Waiting pauses.

Breath comes again.

Yet I, under cover of darkness,

Must continue to claw for

Air,

Pray for the dawn of release

When you know my heart and,

Perhaps,

Lying alone in your bed (as I lie in mine,)

You love me too.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brynne Nelson

I'm a wife, mother, and writer. I have a passion for crafting stories and poems and posts. Please check out my work; I hope you enjoy it! If you do, feel free to leave a tip so that I can keep generating cool content!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.