Poets logo

Ville De L'Amour

City of Love

By Ramsay ShortPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

Paris... City of Love? I used to laugh

For me it was the city of grim encounters

One sad collision after another

No Lover worthy of the name of Lover

Then I saw you... Or did you see me first?

So many years starved of true deep affection

I felt a bursting overriding thirst

To trust you blind to lift me from dejection

So Paris, passion's playground, one fine day

Cast magic on two souls lost in a Montmartre street

And gave me courage to approach you, "Hey!

Just now I felt you move the earth beneath my feet"

How could I have said that? Where was my guile?

To be so blatant, try a direct high risk hit?

Throw caution to the winds? It's not my style

Paris had undone me, made me so indiscreet

"Un Coup de Foudre' - 'Love at First Sight' - Stop! Danger!

'Reckless Abandon' so they called it years ago

Serving my heart up hot to you a stranger

But everyone's a stranger till you know

And I chose well... you didn't hit and run

Paris had found me someone worth my hasty trust

We're still together, spellbound, one on one

Our tenderness has lasted, still not bust

And Paris is still Paris, tellement fou!

Infuriating, drives me crazy every day

But I forgive her for she gave me you

Together - fingers crossed - forever we will stay

love poems
2

About the Creator

Ramsay Short

Award-winning writer, journalist, editor and poet writing on the topics of travel, grief, relationships, music, art, futurism, sustainability and love. Find out more here

Ramsay is also known for his work with the late Anthony Bourdain.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.