Poets logo

Video Poetry: Time Has Passed Us By

An audio version of my poem inspired by The Cinematic Orchestra’s ‘To Build a Home’

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Video Poetry: Time Has Passed Us By
Photo by Valerie Blanchett on Unsplash

Last year, I shared one of my favorite poems with you.

Time Has Passed Us By holds a special place in my heart. In it, I speak of learning to let go of a beloved partner who is about to die.

Over the years, people have told me how helpful this poem has been for them. Many have also asked me to do a recording for it.

Time Has Passed Us By

Looking at you now,

As the green of leaves subsides,

I understand my purpose.

--

The light of your presence

Filters through the cracks of absence.

My soul knows what’s right.

--

Time has passed us by

In this house others will not see.

--

Time has passed us by

But I will let you go.

--

My love, the dust will settle,

‘Cause we are all made of stars,

And stars do not lie.

--

The ebb and flow of delight

Will be ours again someday.

Do not fear for me.

--

Time has passed us by

In this house others will not see.

--

Time has passed us by

But I will let you go.

--

Please close your eyes, now.

©2013 Cendrine Marrouat

Earlier this week, I had some free time. So I went ahead and recorded myself. I then used the audio to make a video featuring some of my photography. I also uploaded the track to my podcast. Both are included below.

Video version:

Audio version:

I hope you enjoyed this poem. What version did you prefer?

That's it for today!

My new book is out! In Her Own Words is a collection of short stories and flashku told from the point of view of women at different stages in their lives.

In Her Own Words is available everywhere ebooks are sold. Click below for more information.

---------

Post originally published on Medium.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.