Poets logo

Venom and Tonic

By Brianna Galligan

By Brianna Lynn GalliganPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Could I not give you meandering springs

As days grow ever old.

Wouldn’t I give you glorious things

To keep you from the cold.

The time, grown tepid, tries to divulge

Meaning from my dreaming.

It intrigues, caresses in hopes I’ll indulge

In it’s vapid perpetual scheming.

My mind sits in stalemate, it’s walls failing slowly,

Diminishing in it’s erosion.

It splutters and gasps at the thin braille of glass

That hold key to my soul’s emotion.

The itching and twitching of venomous snakes

Devour my sense of hearing

In grim and malevolent consternation,

As fires that glow in their searing.

And though I must listen to tortuous snakes,

I never will let them control me

For I am a person and that person’s myself

And my soul will forever stay free.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.