Poets logo

Velocity

the speed of speed of speed

By OpheliaPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1
Velocity
Photo by Tim Rüßmann on Unsplash

The first time my father explained velocity

was on a steep road with the town's oldest ice cream shop

on our left

(too steep to make any sense and not steep enough)

“It is the speed of speed, do you understand that?”

And I understood that

“Even your brother (the gay) (one)) doesn't understand that”

And it just so happens that,

it would be six years later,

on that same road,

my boyfriend sped me down the downhill side of that steep road where

(I guess it makes sense that

the clinic

came before the ice cream on this side)

he told me he loved me and stayed

in the car with our beautiful son

while I went inside alone and

wrote a weeping poem in the waiting room.

And then, and only then,

was I not lying about

understanding velocity.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Ophelia

creator. dreamer. writer. believer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.