Poets logo

Valuable Life

A poem about why BLM means so much to me

By Drama Kueen Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Video of me reading the poem and talking about why I wrote this poem

I've cried a lot over my lifetime,

But not with the intensity that I have

Over the last few weeks

See I have a nephew

Who means the world to me

He is the one who calls me TeTe

A mini me, cuz I can't have my own

He really is like my little clone

I never imagined life without him until now

Hoping I never get a call that the cops have shot him down

Leaving our family wondering if we can go on and if so how

How?

How would we ever move on and live life

How would we cope and deal with the strife

Knowing he never could have kids, or meet his wife….

These are thoughts that cross black people's minds every single day

It's so heavy, on our hearts it weighs

To my nephew, I hope this never happens, I pray…

I pray..

I pray..

That black people's lives will be valued one day.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Drama Kueen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.