Poets logo

Valentines Poems/Rhymes, Format or None Contest

Due at noon on February 14, 2024

By Denise E LindquistPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Valentines Poems/Rhymes, Format or None Contest
Photo by Kyaw Tun on Unsplash

Chocolate-covered pretzels and Truffles were the prizes. I have T-shirts and other gifts but you just have to give me chocolate for a Valentine's prize of this size. So many friends entered. Most that have participated before, Many contributed six or seven entries.

All claiming to be beginners, and only starting this year or a few years ago. There are two or three that have started with me and this is year eight for us I know.

There were four judges, 3 writers who still consider themselves amateurs, and, my husband, whose credentials are that he is a chronic rhymer. It took time to get through every poem/rhyme.

We never did get four votes at any time. It was narrowed down by two of us, so two didn't read everyone. Not as much fun!

The winners are below. First, second, third, and fourth place then 2 honorable mentions. All shown here:

First Place:

Jennifer Sawatzky (3 votes) Jennifer had another make it into the finals with 2 votes, but it was ruled out as it didn't fit Valentine's poem qualifications. Still great!

~Love like a flower~

Love grows slowly like a flower 🌹

A seed in ones heart full of power

Unknown the depth which a root reaches

Or the strength in lessens that it teaches

It takes imperfections in the weather

To bind its cells to mesh together

Once it breaks ground and starts growing

The heights it may reach no one is knowing

It bends and turns but never breaks

At times the growth may have its aches

Sometimes the unknown will leave you feeling stressed

Other times you will fall into loves arms for comfort and rest

Love grows slowly like a flower

It never fades like the sands in an hour

❤️⏳❤️

Second Place:

Shelly Chase (3 votes) Shelly had 2 poems that made it into the finals. One with 2 votes.

Silly valentine

Will you be mine

Remembering my first kiss

My dearest wish

Hiding in the closet with neighbor Steve

my first love, why did he leave

Oh - we were only six

Our parents were in the Mix

Steve moved away

I had to stay

Poor sad valentine

No longer was he mine ♥️

Third Place:

Carol Verant Arola (2 votes) She didn't need 3 votes as she used so many poetry forms for this Valentine's contest that she had to win! 3 of the judges haven't read them every day this week.

Time for a nonsense Valentine’s Day poem.

No more mush

No more gush

It’s a day for chocolate candy

And my first love Randy.

No, wait it was not

I think his name was Scott.

No maybe not Scott but Billy.

Oh my, this is getting silly 😜

I can’t recall who stole my heart

Right from the start.

Too many years have come and gone

Oh Wait, maybe it was Ron!

Good grief my memory is bad

Seems like a lot of Valentine’s I’ve had

Candy was always my favorite part

There’s only one who stole my heart

There’s only one who put my heart in peril.

Yes, my Valentine is definitely Daryl ❤️.

Fourth Place:

JoAnn Boorman (2 votes) JoAnn had 2 votes for 2 but because my name was mentioned we had to rule that one out as it could be considered a bribe of one of the judges😂

So I’m thinking of what I want to say

About the upcoming Valentine’s Day

I no longer have a sweetie pie

Because my sweet Roger did die

Long before I met him-still in the Booze

I used to let the alcohol choose

I have had my share of relationships

Most of them put fat on my hips

Stress and strife, anger and tears

Off balance with too many fears

Lies and cheating, emotions so raw

Sometimes I couldn’t believe what I saw

I got sober and after many years

I met Roger and there were no more tears

He spoiled me for any other guys

I wouldn’t even want to try…

Today I have different loves in my life you see

My daughter, grandkids, family, friends and me

Honorable mentions:

Kathy Hron

The lonely man on the moon

Looked for love in a hot air balloon

It was all good and fun

Until he got too close to the sun

He and the balloon went “kaboom”.

Cindy Grace

Valentines' Day is almost here

It is very near!

Chocolates and red hearts hang on shelves

Made by elves.

Cute brown bears snuggled in tight

Holding heart boxes and chocolates with delight!

heartbreaklove poemshumorFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Hahahahahha my favourite was Kathy's Limerick! I enjoyed all of these poems!

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.