Poets logo

Utopian Sea

Being in love does not always mean being free

By Sofia DuartePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
4
This poem was made to the sound of the this music.

Sea levels rise with my tears

I see you on the horizon.

My body falls, the heart was stolen,

A soul was broken.

The hopeless screams share my fears.

Little boat roams away…

My song calls you to stay.

My love goes on like a seagull

And my tears rise from above.

And the song goes on…

By Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

Rain, rain, rain,

Would you bring him again?

Without him, I will fall!

My life is just no more, that’s all!

Moon, moon, moon,

Bring him home soon.

May they overcome all storms

And go back to their moms.

Sun, sun, sun,

I will cry every day that he’s gone.

May he return in one piece,

And my cries would just cease!

Come, come, come,

Your place is at our home.

With our love, we cry your parting,

For eternity we will be waiting.

By Ameen Fahmy on Unsplash

The sky falls into tears too.

We are lost, missing you!

In the land, we stand, alone.

Our hearts, probably, won

A new beginning to bleed and to share

Our freedom of missing that little boat.

Fisherman, be a free man,

Capturer of the fallen.

The eyes try to stay anchored

As time passes, silence arrives.

Please, don’t let the sea take them!

The women desire the arrival

Of the dead fish, of their living lovers.

Am I the only one that gets lost?

Every heart remaining ashore cries.

Please don’t tell me that they are in danger,

Please, tell me lies!

Fisherman, be a returning man,

Capturer of food and smiles!

Days alone,

Days awake.

Take care of the children, Fate!

Little one,

Your mother is waiting

Each morning to the horizon surprise,

When the boat will rise

And her dead heart reborn.

Can you hear her dying heart?

Will Fate smile at her?

The sun rushes once more,

The night will come.

New tears will be born.

Days and months come.

The woman voice stays put, like the wind,

Echoes through the sea.

Her lover almost can hear

The missing tears that the sea sings.

Will the fisherman be apart?

And the death be the conqueror?

Gone, gone, gone,

No news seem to come.

The eternal days arrive

The hope in their souls will survive?

More, more, more

Days come and go ashore.

Their songs sing NO MORE!

Please, return home.

We don’t want to wait and die alone!

Saudade is our word,

But the pain it’s real, profound

That we can even feel it in the ground

When the beach and the hope go on.

Waves come and go,

I don’t ever want to let you go!

Return, my dear friend,

Come back to my arms and let me live again!

Fishermen, come home.

You are so far away and we are so alone!

Sea, you monster,

That steal that man from me,

I don’t want to give you my salty tears,

You already salty enough, it seems!

Fishermen, where are you now?

I sing for your safe return, did you know?

Beautiful is my memories,

The same that tears my heart apart!

I weep with a smile, so salty

And crude like the waiting.

Fisherman, can you come?

Please tell me you’re almost ashore!

My voice is weaker, my pulse is broken.

I can’t feel you anymore.

Hope is vanishing, death is approaching my senses.

I want to feel this no more!

Fisherman, is that your boat that I see afloat?

Or maybe is just a dream of my sinking heart?

Day after day,

Night after night.

Do you know the happiness that we may

Feel when you come back?

Vanishing like the waves,

Our hearts will weaver.

My love, are you forever gone?

I hope you liked this poem. You can check more poetry or stories on my profile or in the table below.

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Sofia Duarte

Poetry, facts, and fiction. ✏️

A Portuguese writer with an ocean of content.

News @ sofiaduarte.com

Socials @ Instagram + Facebook + Twitter + LinkedIn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.