Poets logo

Us

Poetry about loving someone

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Us
Photo by Austin Kehmeier on Unsplash

One small step

And a big step

All together into one

Joined by the sound

Of crackling leaves

Under our shoes

As we walked past them

I am following behind you

Like I always have been

And soon

I’d be walking by myself

Since you’re not longer here

But that’s alright with me

Because I know

No matter where you are

We’re still connected

By heart

And I wouldn’t change a thing

Because when I look at the falling leaves

It makes me think of you

And I am reminded of the joy

We had together

Always laughing and smiling at each other

As we hold a cup of coffee in our hands

Trying to keep ourselves warm

From the cold weather

When winter comes

I’d wrap my hands around the mug

Remembering the times of you and me

How we’d always talk, talk and talk

Never stopping

As if time didn’t matter at all

We stare into each other’s eyes

Suddenly, I smile at you

And I say,

“I love us.”

love poems
2

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.