Poets logo

Upon My Bench

Life's Reflection

By Dan R FowlerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

Upon My Bench

Upon my bench, I sit pondering,

Life’s mysteries, miracles, and my meanderings.

Has it always been this way I questioned,

As my memories lay unstirred in its bastion.

As a child, unsure of life, I wanted to see,

Into my mind’s room, its closet, its mysteries.

Led by forces or spirits unknown to many,

I found treasure troves of blessings plenty.

A cornucopia of yesterday’s experiences and surprises,

That was unwrapped from early morning sunrises.

A childhood filled with misunderstandings,

Awaiting spoken words with truth withstanding.

With hunger pains to know, to grow, to go,

My mind sought out hidden secrets and all that life could show.

An imperfect person seeking answers to man’s insurrection,

Was not to be found in the mirror but in some opposite direction.

I still see reflections of myself at that time,

A lone sojourner speaking often and hopefully kind.

The strangers many I met along my path,

Some not respectful of their word or chat.

With those years all behind me, I seek not to please,

Those who differ in reasoning as I sit in the breeze.

Their words are now like raindrops that fall from the sky,

Living a moment before they all become dry.

I still sit upon my bench within my own mind,

Watching stories, finding secrets, but now not so blind.

For I see far down the years from which I have climbed,

Being led by an unseen hand or heavenly spirit sublime.

It’s my next trip I’m pondering, a meandering all-new,

When I stand up from my bench and step forward out of view.

In that moment whatever mercy and grace it may hold,

I’ve been promised it will be glorious such splendor to behold.

By: Dan R. Fowler

For: Astrid

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.