Poets logo

Untittled

Talk to me about Punk

By Salina BrillaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
6
Copper top photo from my phone

Talk to me about punk through basements, house shows, seedy dive bars, skate parks and your favorite flyers.

Talk to me about punk through your friends, the ones you've lost, the ones on tour, the ones that hop trains.

Talk to me about punk through your scars, your favorite black eye, that time you got stitches, watched someone's tooth get pulled out or blocked your friend while she sat in a pit to tie her shoe.

Talk to me about punk from the alley where you spray painted "Fuck The Police" or macheted a table, busted T.V. sets, threw knives and lit fires.

Talk to me about punk after closing time, when your friend skateboarded off the street sweeper, shot a gun in the alley, stalked the cemetery, and hiked the train tracks.

Talk to me about punk through the fights. The shithead who got his face exploded with one punch. The tooth that got knocked out cause the little guy has a big mouth. How the whole room was gonna get even with Stabby Steve.

Talk to me about punk through the travel, the 50 miles you drove, the 5 hours it took to get to, the time you got lost, and how you found your way again.

Talk to me about punk through the homeless, the addicts, the store clerks, fast food servers, lawyers, healthcare workers, scientists, and artists.

Talk to me about punk through that person you loved, you know the one, or perhaps several, the ones you took home or the one you obsessed over at shows and dreamt about each night when you went home alone.

Talk to me about punk through the times you stood up! For the guy wearing the skirt, for your black and hispanic friends, for the girl who couldn't use her voice so you used yours.

Talk to me about punk through the hard times, when the community came together. When you collected clothes, food and money to take care of eachother.

Talk to me about punk through tattoos, what you got? Misfits, Black Flag, your friends band, lyrics, or maybe your band? What logo marks you?

Now, talk to me about punk through music. Are you pop? Rock? Horror? Political? English? Ska? Gutterbilly? Folk? Rail? Thrash? Does it matter?

Talk to me about punk through feeling, or better yet, fuck all the talking, put on your patches, your chucks, your uniform, I'll throw on one of my dresses and let's get to a goddamn show.

love poems
6

About the Creator

Salina Brilla

I am a Writer, Artist, Tarot Reader, Music Booker and Promoter. I write poetry and paint when I have something inside of me that needs to come out. I write about bands, Tarot, concepts and idea's I feel the necessity to share with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.