Poets logo

Untitled Melancholy

A Poem

By Zoleeta Myers-WestPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

The minute I first heard your cry

I fell in love

The second I saw your face

You were my world

The second I held you in my arms

I never wanted to let you go.

Our first hour together was magical

Our first night together was bliss

Our first day together was amazing

Our first night together was heaven

These sequences repeated for six months

Then one day you were gone.

My world is empty

My soul is shattered

My days are black and my nights are blacker

The hours creep by

The seconds linger

I feel like I'm on autopilot waiting to crash and disappear

Until I have you back in my arms

I cannot feel

Until I can lay eyes on you again

My world is dark and gray

Until I can see your smile

I forever cry

Until I can hear your laugh

I shall not

My world is empty, dark and cold

Without my son to light my way.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.