Poets logo

untitled

pride

By River JoyPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
8
"I Still Fear" River Joy 2018

sometimes i go dark

when even the sunrise

through the clouds

burns my skin

when my heart

beats so fast

it is a miracle

i can write words

on a page

my hand shakes

with my confidence

for each trip here

is longer, more languid

i never want

to jump into this cold sea

but for some reason

i do

every time

it is lonely

and it is tiring

the currents

always new

always different

than it was before

and how can i hold a pen

when i am swimming for my life

but my pen knits together my life

so then i have no voice

and when i have no voice

i have trouble swimming

what i'm trying to say

is i love the sunrise

and i love the smell of the ocean

-sometimes

i need to be plucked from the middle

i am a strong swimmer

but i cannot breathe

it is not weakness to admit defeat

and the view sure is gorgeous from here

what a waste

it would be

just for pride

I stumbled a bit on the words here. This wasn't an easy poem. Anyway anyone fighting the good fight keep on 🖤

sad poetryslam poetryperformance poetry
8

About the Creator

River Joy

I make things with paint and words and light. I was once described as an asshole with Mr. Rogers vibes.

Facebook

[email protected]

Tic Tok Poetry Readings

Buy Me a Coffee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    I'm glad you fought your way to completing this one, River. Well done!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    This was beautifully penned, and I found this one line kept sticking out on the reread "how can i hold a pen when i am swimming for my life". Wonderful work, River :)

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Sometimes the really good ones fight us on the way to the page (or screen). That was lovely River!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.