Poets logo

Until Now

Ballad for my daughter.

By M. JohnsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I thought I knew you in all the ways. I was first to smell the scent of your crown. Sweet peas and roses when we met. I knew all of you until now.

Fast as summer turns to fall. You took my heart and took it all. Your spirit makes roots in my heart. I thought I knew all of you from our start. But I didn’t know all of you until now. Not truly until now.

Strong your tiny arms swept me up from despair. I beckoned loniness and didn’t want you there. You charged into the darkness with all the fire of light. You fearlessly came for me into the night.

I didn’t know all of you until now. Though who you’ve become is you alone somehow. I nurtured and sang to you as you reached for the sky. I lifted you up just trying to make sure you could fly.

I never knew all of you until now. My strong daughter. I never knew. I never knew. Until now. Like the last sweet pear from the tree. You were crafted fearfully and wonderfully.

In the dark you are my light you picked me up and made me try. Try to hope, try to breathe you are stronger than you know. So much stronger than me.

All of your days you’ve shown your fiery heart but that day it burned brighter than a star. You rescued me with love. Pushing passed my ego and fear. Head under water you lifted me above.

I truly see you now your greatest level tool wasn’t taught or shown to you. It lives in you. I loved your little heart. I nursed your bright light, but the real treasures of you can’t be seen with the eyes.

I know you now. I see you now. Perfectly imperfect and flawed to perfection. I wish you could see yourself the way I do. I wish you could make that connection.

I can’t wait to see all of you. Your kind heart will someday be a Mother too. I’ll walk with you all the way. Just like you I’ll come when you say stay away. I’ll reach out in the dark and I’ll grab your hand. We will never be alone because you’ll always be my song and I’ll always be your band.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

M. Johnson

There is no bad weather; only bad clothing 🏔

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.