Poets logo

Unidentified Relationship

It's Okay For Now, But I Can Do Better Than Him.

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - February 2022
Unidentified Relationship
Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

When I commit

I'm all in

Nothing will sever my loyalty

*

Like nurturing the 72 year-old

plant in my bedroom

Daily giving my love and energy

Committed to watering

something beautifully long-lasting

*

But commitment isn't something

I give away so easily

*

It takes someone special

to fully satiate my palette

*

Someone to satisfy my soul

beyond

good sex

gentle words

and laughter between everything

*

Beyond the material things

he seems so obsessed with

But I guess gifts are his love language

so for now

I can accept that

*

Being in a unidentified relationships

is bizarre beyond how I raised

but for now

I'm alright with it

*

He hasn't fully made the cut

but he's genuine

and I appreciate that

*

He treats me as his queen

though I don't attempt to rule him

Offers me everything

without asking anything in return

*

They ask us if we're dating

I say, 'We're just friends."

he smiles and interjects

"GOOD friends."

Knowing if he doesn't

draw that line

their pursuit of me

would be endless

*

Although he doesn't care

if I have a partner besides him

He just doesn't want to be one of his friends

As if I was even interested in one of them

*

He tells me about his other partner

I've even seen pictures of them

but that's none of my concern

as long as he holds up his end of our bargain

*

Even if I was the jealous type

for what would I have to worry?

*

I'm the one he flies out for vacations

on his birthday

I'm the one he spends a band on

with a carefree, generous grin

*

I'm the one he brags about to his family

the one he happily introduces to them

*

I'm the one he speaks to honestly

knowing I'd prefer to hear the hard truth

over being sold marvelous tricks

*

I'm the one he takes care of when I'm sick

Making me tea and holding me until I feel better

*

I'm the one he defends from others

although he knows I could handle it

*

I'm the one he is struck by

I'm the one he wants and needs

*

But I know what I want

My perception is keen

*

And if I had felt the same

when we met 5 years ago

things would have turned out differently

When I made it clear to him where I stand

and he said he fully agreed

*

The Uber driver asked us if we were dating

He looked at me and smiled gently

remembering our previous conversation

His reply echoed my words verbatim

*

"No, we're just friends."

"We'll see where it goes from here."

*

His words sealed the deal

as the introduction to our agreement

*

Polyamory is common culture in Cameroon

which is why I knew it wasn't going anywhere

I could ever whole-heartedly commit to

*

After our 2 year gap

he came back to me

Remembering

the queen he held dear

*

We keep in touch

although there's physical distance

but personally I like the space

between the friction filled sheets

and dazzling dates

*

I'm okay with not knowing where it's going

with only being GOOD friends

because while he's great

I can do better than him

love poems

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sarah JaneWritten by Sarah Jane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.