Poets logo

Unexplained white matter

Begin where you are

By TJ GordonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Unexplained white matter

Tiny white dots

Scattered across my mind

Unexplained white matter

Random lesions of different size

Unexplained white matter

Each patient unique

and impaired

Unexplained white matter

A disease with no compare

Unexplained white matter

Like droplets of scattered rain

Unexplained white matter

disrupting signals across my brain

Unexplained white matter

My leg no longer moves

Unexplained white matter

My body aging far too soon

Unexplained white matter

Scans and tests galore

Unexplained white matter

From 3 to 24 the lesions soar

Unexplained white matter

The tiny dots begin to align

Unexplained white matter

No longer unknown scars upon my mind

Multiple Sclerosis

No longer unexplained

White matter scattered damage and disease

Like a paint brush flicked across my brain

Just tiny little innocent dots

like fairy lights on MRI

Tiny dots of white matter

Stealing from my mind

Random white matter

Re shaping how I see

Beautiful white dots of change

Filled with a challenge to feel free

White little dots all scattered

No other being or brain the same

How unique, how bizarre, how incredulous

How creative we overcame

Yes, we overcame

The fear of dots of white

So I took my brush and began

to paint all through the night

I turned the stick on its end

I found a pin so small

I dipped them both in white paint

And in my slippers approached the wall

A canvas there before me

an empty wall of black

With random joy and abandonment

& a brush, took my choices back

Random white dots were scattered

From the river to a sea

Forming rocks, waves and seashells

Beauty poured from me

So take that random once

Unexplained white matter

You may have changed my brain

In return I've found a new me

Creativity amidst your pain

Whatever is your colour

Make music, make love, make art

Take back the lack of choice

Own it

Colour it

Make your mark.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

TJ Gordon

When we know more, do more, when we know better, do better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.