Poets logo

Unexpected

Together, Forever

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
53
Unexpected
Photo by RoonZ nl on Unsplash

in the early spring flowers

on the dew in the grass

we laid snuggled for hours

watching the clouds as they passed

making shapes out of nothing

imaginations ran wild

nothing turned into something

and my heart gently smiled

with my hand in your hand

we took our first adventure

soaring over the land

you and I, there, together

and we whispered the words

true love bid us to speak

all the world seemed to blur

and my will power was weak

You leaned in for a kiss

my whole heart was a flutter

I've never felt like this

it seemed as easy as butter

but some geese flew into view

and sent us both falling

you cried, "don't let go of me, Sue"

but I could not hear you calling

instead, I fell into the reeds

on the edge of the lake

and you, into some weeds

next to a venomous snake

it bit you on the butt

and you died there, alone

I was completely stuck in the mud

and could not find my phone

after weeks with no help

I succumbed to the weather

with a soft breathless yelp

we're now together forever

love poemshumor
53

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Kalina Bethany19 days ago

    Woah… my poor heart and all these emotions!! Amazing piece, Kelli. Congrats on the top story

  • What a whirlwind of feelings! Congratulations, Kelli, on creating such an engaging and surprising narrative!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    How did I miss this one??? So funny! Congratulations, Kelli!

  • Morganabout a month ago

    This is a great poem. Congrats!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a month ago

    This is so beautiful. Your writing is exquisite. Great job, Kelli.

  • Alex H Mittelman about a month ago

    Well written. I thought it was Sad that one died died alone. At least now they have each other… even if they are covered in mud. Congrats on top story!

  • Brenton Fabout a month ago

    Well done on a ripper top story! 💖

  • Kodahabout a month ago

    Congrats on top story!! 💌💌

  • Caroline Cravenabout a month ago

    Best twist ever. Didn’t see that ending even though you titled your poem ‘Unexpected’! Great one!

  • Ward Norcuttabout a month ago

    this is pretty funny, Calliope. Congrats on top Story

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    Lol... Well, I guess they still made it home, just not the physical one. Loved your poem! And congrats, Kelli!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a month ago

    A very sad tragic romance 🥲🥲🥲 very well written

  • Caroline Janeabout a month ago

    😱😱 What a tragedy!!! Love it. Congratulations. 🥰

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • ROCK about a month ago

    My Kelli! I was going to write happy birthday as I am drinking prosecco but then I thought 🤔. How about Yay for Top Story! What will you wear to the awards?

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Congrats on TS - such an unexpected ending!!

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    Congrats on the Top Story! This was a crazy poem. I loved how you told this story!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Creative & impressive!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️ Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    There ya go. Congrats on the TS.

  • Lindsay Sfaraabout a month ago

    WOW. No words. Definitely unexpected as so appropriately titled. Well done, Kelli, and congrats on top story!

  • Hayley Mattoabout a month ago

    I think I audibly said… oh no. Haha what a twist! Congrats on TS!

  • mumtaz hussainabout a month ago

    congradulation dear on your top story.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Did NOT see that coming!

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Well-wrought! Even though you titled it "Unexpected", you still managed to veil the surprise and fufill the expectation of an unexpected outcome. A-level poetic prestidigitiation! I'm adding this one to my CREATION MYTH! https://vocal.media/poets/creation-myth-m8dm0x8d

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.