Poets logo

Underneath the House

of reoccurring nightmares.

By J. S. WadePublished about a year ago β€’ Updated about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - January 2023
Underneath the House
Photo by Ashley Levinson on Unsplash

Tempestuous storms, black clouds in my mind

Through gravitas dreams, borderline snares, I dart.

Ticks and tocks of moon man’s clock watches time.

Unnerved, afraid, ghosts of guilt pierce my heart.

πŸ’€

Stenches of rot implicate all senses.

Risen from the floor by conflicts espoused.

Decomposed sins, the past denigrated.

Buried in the muck underneath the house.

πŸ’€

Night air surrounded by sirens of blue.

I quake, the graves will be discovered.

Imprisonment waits, forever subdued.

Behind steel bars, by justice sequestered.

πŸ’€

Moon man’s bells ring, and I am joggled awake.

Are reoccurring nightmares genuine or fake?

πŸ’€πŸ’€πŸ’€

This Sonnet is based on a reoccurring nightmare where I fear the house I own has dead bodies buried beneath. Whether mine or not, I might be blamed.

No, I'm not a serial killer. I believe it symbolizes the conscientious, but suppressed, errors of my past. Subconsciously, don’t we all have something buried… somewhere?

Dinner anyone?

surreal poetry

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (26)

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Edgar Allan is definitely applauding from somewhere Scott. That was terrific!

  • Jay Vabout a year ago

    Anyone interested in romcom or love fiction..... this is worth a try https://vocal.media/fiction/phoenix-and-albatross-a-tale-of-two-wings-y0jigr0zfc

  • Anthony Evans about a year ago

    This is an interesting post

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    I was surprised at the lack of unnerving and dark dream entry's to the challenge. Glad you were on the same page as myself! Really enjoyed this. Great flow, no nonsense. Fair play. Dinner's on you.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Outstanding. Excellent poetic timing. Exceptionally written!!!

  • EJ Fergusonabout a year ago

    Oooh. I read this aloud to get a proper feel for the rythm, and the eigth verse was literally hair raising. Fan of this one!

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I love the feeling of a sliw pirouette into fear. You have certainly conveyed the dark of your dream. My dreams, (and subsequent entries to this challenge) are very dark as well. I feel that because I live waking hours in the light, suppressing things, the dreams dive deep into unspoken fears. This poem was VERY vivid and well written!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Very creepy indeed 😳 I also appreciated your insight at the end. Well done.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Jay Mckenzieabout a year ago

    Love this Scott. So atmospheric!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Line three is my favorite. But I love the wording of "Decomposed sins." It gives the mind so much to ponder. Congrats on your Top Story!

  • Jean Bruceabout a year ago

    As a person who also has recurring nightmares, I can totally understand the paranoia that comes with it. Lovely poem~ I found it relatable. <3

  • Ruth Stewartabout a year ago

    Top Story. Well, they got that right. Grisly and dark, I love it.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the top story. Very well deserved.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    This was superb. What a great take, short, sweet and especially scary Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Excellent poem , great challenge entry and congratulations on your Top Story

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    We all have skeletons - I don't like when they appear in my dreams, though - disturbing! Congrats on your Top Story! :)

  • Ahhh, like skeletons in the closet. That makes a lot of sense. All the suppressed mistakes and regrets of our past. That's a clever analysation of your dream. Your poem was excellent btw!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    You described your nightmare so well! Some beautiful stanzas in this creep-o-thon.

  • πŸ˜‰

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great, and I don't believe you. muaahahaha

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    This sounds like a nightmare, especially as it’s reoccurring. Great take on the challenge Scott.

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    Ooh creepy, I love it. For sure the kind of dream that makes one wake in a panic.

J. S. WadeWritten by J. S. Wade

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.