Poets logo

Under the Tree

A Christmas Villanelle

By Joe PattersonPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
4
Under the Tree
Photo by lasse bergqvist on Unsplash

I’m looking for that little gift under the tree.

Oh how I long for what has been wrapped

Excited for the gift that lies under for me.

The wrap covers it as red as chicken pox.

I wanna shake the present to feel what’s

inside. I’m in love with this little box.

I can’t open it yet, but I’m really not mad.

This gift is gonna be the best gift ever

Special thanks to my mom and dad.

Christmas Day is looking bright.

I’m ready for the present that

lies under the Christmas tree light.

I’m super ready to go for you.

The big day isn’t here fast enough

I anticipate the moment I can open you.

This anxiety is super funny to me.

I guess it should hit you the same

But not everyone is an antsy one, just me

As I long for the gifts under the tree.

humorlove poemsHoliday
4

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Millsteed 5 months ago

    I kept picturing an excited little boy when I read this. Nice work Joe.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.