Poets logo

Under Construction

Home is the world we create

By Aleta DavisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Under Construction
Photo by Viraj Patel on Unsplash

On the good days, home is a refuge

A place where we sow seeds

Where we cultivate life

Where we grow and fall and stretch and push

Where we ripen and rise

And cede what rots

A place where we nourish one another

Where we measure and mix and simmer and stir

Where we fill our bellies and slake our thirst

Where we create our own medicines, immersed

In recalled comforts of the wild

A place where we rest

Where we take shelter

Where we build fires as winter brews

And stay dry amid summer storms

Our refuge and our respite

On the bad days, it’s a trap

A place without peace

Where the floor shifts beneath my feet

Where the walls close in

And I find myself repeatedly

Picking up the pieces

A place where I mourn

What could have been

Where the unspoken is suffocating

And I simply wait for the darkness to give way

To morning

A place where I want to give up

And chastise myself for instead

Giving in

But even on the worst days

It’s the place where I’m needed

Where I’ll listen for your cries any hour of the day

Where I’ll sit with you

Read with you

Play with you

Sing to you

As if you’re all I know

Home is the world we create

The foundation we lay with

Our breath and our bodies

The scaffolding of our intentions

Each day building on the last

love poems
1

About the Creator

Aleta Davis

Policy analyst, mother, and aspiring gardener trying a hand at short fiction. On twitter @aleta_rose.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.